skip to main content

poetry.openmikes.org

US and Canadian Poetry Open Mikes

Open Mics in Kansas City, MO

The Uptown Arts Bar

Blue Mondays (music, poetry)
Second Monday of the month at 8pm

Hosted by David Arnold Hughes

3611 Broadway
Kansas City, MO
phone:816-960-4611
venue:uptownartsbar.com
This reading is sponsored by The Writers Place and features the winner of the previous month's slam at The Blue Room reading. This is a very popular reading with only a two hour time slot, so be sure to arrive early to get on the list.

This listing was last updated over 4 years ago. You may want to contact the venue to confirm that the dates and time are still correct.

If this listing is not accurate, please leave a correction using the form below the listing.

Credits

  • Submitted by Jeanette Powers
  • Last updated: July 10, 2013

Upcoming Dates

  • Monday, Jan 08
  • Monday, Feb 12
  • Monday, Mar 12
  • Monday, Apr 09
  • Monday, May 14

The Writers Place

The Salon (music, poetry)
Fourth Monday of the month at 7pm

Hosted by Sharon Eiker

3607 Pennsylvania Ave
Kansas City, MO
phone:816-753-1090
venue:writersplace.org
Open mic starts at seven hosted by the godmother of Kansas City poetry. This is a very laid back reading with lots of time for discussion and camraderie. 5 dollar cover, but no one is turned away for lack of funds. If you haven't been to this staple of the KC literary community, you are missing out and this is a perfect introduction to the many events this castle hosts.

This listing was last updated 11 months ago. You may want to contact the venue to confirm that the dates and time are still correct.

If this listing is not accurate, please leave a correction using the form below the listing.

Credits

  • Submitted by Jeanette Powers
  • Last updated: January 17

Upcoming Dates

  • Monday, Dec 25
  • Monday, Jan 22
  • Monday, Feb 26
  • Monday, Mar 26
  • Monday, Apr 23

The Uptown Arts Bar

Poetic Underground (music, comedy, poetry)
Every Wednesday at 10pm
3611 Broadway
Kansas City, MO
phone:816-960-4611
venue:uptownartsbar.com

An exciting open mic with rotating hosts featuring some of the most dynamic spoken word artists and poets in KC. Musicians and more are welcome, though the theme is words, so original lyrics are encouraged.

Sometimes there are slam style readings, sometimes there is a sign up sheet, we keep it flexible and fluid. No censorship, all welcome! There is no cover, but donations are encouraged to keep the scene thriving

This listing was last updated over 3 years ago. You may want to contact the venue to confirm that the dates and time are still correct.

If this listing is not accurate, please leave a correction using the form below the listing.

Credits

  • Submitted by Jeanette Powers
  • Last updated: April 23, 2014

Upcoming Dates

  • Wednesday, Dec 20
  • Wednesday, Dec 27
  • Wednesday, Jan 03
  • Wednesday, Jan 10
  • Wednesday, Jan 17

The Matchbox Bar & Grill

Acoustic Jam / Open Mic (music, comedy, poetry)
Every Friday at 8pm

Hosted by Co- hosted by Frank Stinson (sax) with rotating Hosts featuring some of KC's finest.

2853 Southwest Blvd
Kansas City, MO

Great food , excellent service, tasty music… no cover.

Saturday Night Singer Songwriter Showcase 8 pm

Come enjoy !

This listing was last updated 6 months ago. You may want to contact the venue to confirm that the dates and time are still correct.

If this listing is not accurate, please leave a correction using the form below the listing.

Credits

  • Last updated: June 15

Upcoming Dates

  • Friday, Dec 22
  • Friday, Dec 29
  • Friday, Jan 05
  • Friday, Jan 12
  • Friday, Jan 19

Search listings near Kansas City, MO.